Assemblies

Assemblies by Students

Thursday is set aside for student assemblies.

All Year Groups have an opportunity to research, plan and deliver assemblies according to their choice. Not only does this help to develop self-confidence & public speaking skills, it also aids in personal development of pupils and helps to broaden their awareness of current affairs and the world around them.

Pupils take pride in putting their points of view forward and overall these assemblies have been hugely successful in promoting a positive culture across the whole school.

After a round is completed, students vote for the best assembly and a prize is awarded to the winners.

Term 2


Year Group
Date
Topic
7
   
8
   
9
   
10
   
11
Thursday 2nd November Citizenship Day Visit to Gloucester Crown Court

Term 1


Year Group
Date
Topic
7
Thursday 12th October Gender based discrimination
8
Thursday 5th October  Friendships, Trust and Spreading rumours
9
Thursday 28th September Racism
10
Thursday 21st September Dealing With Anxiety & Stress
11
Thursday 14th September Teamwork

Year 8's were voted best assembly for Term 1 for their assembly on Friendships, Trust and Spreading rumours.

Masha-Allah & Congratulations to Year 8!

Award: Complimentary take-away meal on Friday 13th October.

Assemblies by Staff

Assemblies Planned for 2017/2018

Term 2


Event/Topic

Assembly Date

Assembly By

Notes

Cross-curricular Links

Guy Fawkes Day
Sunday 5th November
Wednesday 1st Nov RL

https://www.awarenessdays.com/awareness-days-calendar/guy-fawkes-night-2017bonfire-night/

Guy Fawkes Assembly Note

History
Armistice Day
Sunday 12th November
Friday 10th November HT

http://www.britishlegion.org.uk/community/calendar/remembrance-services-and-events/remembrance-sunday-2017/

Remembrance Day Assembly Notes

BV/History
Anti-bullying Week
13th -17th Nov
Monday 13th Nov HT https://www.anti-bullyingalliance.org.uk/news-insight/news/theme-anti-bullying-week-2017-has-been-announced-%E2%80%98all-different-all-equal%E2%80%99 Citizenship/Islamiat
World Diabetes Day
Tuesday 14th Nov
Tuesday 14th Nov DA https://www.diabetes.org.uk/get_involved/world-diabetes-day PSHE/Science
Road Safety Week
Mon 20th – 26th Nov
Friday 24th Nov SA http://www.roadsafetyweek.org.uk/ PSHE
Hanukkah
13th – 21st December
Wednesday 13th Dec TBC   RE/BV
Christmas
25th December
Thursday 7th Dec Revd. Juliet Jensen
Vicar, St. James & All Saints & Christ Church
Gloucester
  RE/BV

Term 1


Event/Topic

Assembly Date

Assembly By

Notes

Cross-curricular Links

International Literacy Day Friday 8th Sept Friday 8th Sept
HT

http://www.unesco.org/new/en/unesco/events/prizes-and-celebrations/celebrations/international-days/literacy-day/

https://www.awarenessdays.com/awareness-days-calendar/international-literacy-day-2017/

English & NC
World First Aid Day Saturday 9th Sept Tuesday 12th Sept
DH

https://globaldimension.org.uk/event/world-first-aid-day/2017-09-09/

World First Aid Day Assembly Notes

PSHE/Citizenship/Science
International Day of Democracy Friday 15th September Friday 15th Sept
HT
https://www.awarenessdays.com/awareness-days-calendar/international-day-democracy-2017/ PSHE/BV/History
National Eye Health Week 18th – 24th September Wednesday 20th Sept Z.D Optometrist https://www.awarenessdays.com/awareness-days-calendar/national-eye-health-week-2017/

Assembly Notes

PSHE/Science
International Day of Peace Thursday 21st September Friday 22nd Sept
HT
https://www.awarenessdays.com/awareness-days-calendar/international-day-peace-2017/ Citizenship
Careers Assembly Wednesday 27th Sept

Former pupils

Khadijah Atcha,
Bibi Fatimah Hansdot

Route to Primary Teaching

Apprenticeship @ GE Aviation - Business Leadership

Careers
Careers Assembly Monday 2nd Oct

ZD
Specsavers

Career in Optometry

Careers
Careers Assembly Tuesday 3rd Oct
RP
NHS Midwife

Midwifery Career

Careers
Fire Safety Talk Wednesday 4th Oct
Glos. Fire & Rescue Service
Fire Safety Talk PSHE
World Obesity Day Day
Tuesday 10th October
Wednesday 11th Oct
HT
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-41550159 PSHE
Breast Cancer Awareness Month 
October 2017
Tuesday 17th Oct
DH

https://www.breastcancercare.org.uk/about-us/media/press-pack-breast-cancer-awareness-month

Assembly Notes

PSHE/Science
Preventing Extremism Wednesday 18th Oct
HT

http://educateagainsthate.com/parents/what-is-extremism/

http://www.citizenshipfoundation.org.uk/main/page.php?477

BV