Assemblies

Assemblies by Students

Thursday is set aside for student assemblies.

All Year Groups have an opportunity to research, plan and deliver assemblies according to their choice. Not only does this help to develop self-confidence & public speaking skills, it also aids in personal development of pupils and helps to broaden their awareness of current affairs and the world around them.

Pupils take pride in putting their points of view forward and overall these assemblies have been hugely successful in promoting a positive culture across the whole school.

After a round is completed, students vote for the best assembly and a prize is awarded to the winners.

Term 4

Term 4 Pupil Assemblies.

Auditions will be held throughout Term 4 for Al-Ashraf's Got Talent Grand Nasheed Singing Competition which will be held on Thursday 20th June, I A.

Term 3


Year Group
Date
Topic
10
Thur 17th Jan Obesity
9
Thur 24th Jan Anger: Causes & Management
8
Thur 31st Jan Paranoia
7
Thur 7th Feb The 10 Commandments
11
Wed 13th Feb Murder Mystery

Year 11s were voted best assembly for Term 3 and were treated to a dessert treat @ Kaspa's. Congratulations!

Term 2

All Year Groups presented assemblies on their Citizenship Day visits during Term 2 and Year 8s were chosen for their outstanding assembly on recycling and community litter picking.

M.A & Congratulations!

Posted 21st Dec 2018

Term 1 - Debating


Year Group
Date
Topic
11
Thursday 13th September Diversity
10
Thursday 20th September Euthanasia
9
Thursday 25th September Brains Vs Beauty
8
Thursday 2nd October Higher Pay for Single Parents?
7
Thursday 9th October School Uniform

Year 11 won the most votes for Term 1 assembly.

Congratulations!

Assemblies by Staff

Assemblies Planned for 2018/2019

Term 6


Event/Topic

Assembly Date

Assembly By

Notes

Cross-curricular Links

Diabetes Awareness Week
10th – 16th June
7th June HT PSHE/Science
Neighbours Week
17th – 23rd June
17th June HT Islamiat

Term 5


Event/Topic

Assembly Date

Assembly By

Notes

Cross-curricular Links

Stop Food Waste Day
Wed 24th April 2019
24th April HT https://www.stopfoodwasteday.com/en/tips/ten-tips.html RE/Islamiat
Guide to Healthy Fasting 29th April DH Assembly notes Islamiat
Local & Community History Month
May 2019
1st May HT https://www.bartonandtredworth.org.uk/content/place/widden-school/widden-school-a-short-history History

Term 4


Event/Topic

Assembly Date

Assembly By

Notes

Cross-curricular Links

Self-Injury Awareness Day (SIAD)
Friday 1st March 2019
1st March
DH http://www.lifesigns.org.uk/ PSHE
World Book Day
7th March 2019
8th March
Pupils World Book Day Assembly Literacy
Nutrition & Hydration Week
11th March 2019
11th March
HT https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOeQZgECy2g PSHE/Science
World Oral Health Day
20th March 2019
20th March
HT   PSHE
World Poetry Day
21st March 2019
22nd March
HT   Literacy
World Autism Awareness Day
2nd April 2019
5th April HT World Autism Awareness Day PSHE

Term 3


Event/Topic

Assembly Date

Assembly By

Notes

Cross-curricular Links

National Obesity Awareness Week
14th January 2019
15th Jan DH National Obesity Awareness Assembly PSHE/Science
World Religion Day
20th Jan
21st Jan HT https://www.timeanddate.com/holidays/world/world-religion-day RE/BV
Cervical Cancer Prevention Week
21st Jan 2019
22nd Jan DH Assembly Notes PSHE/Science
Holocaust Memorial Day
27th Jan
28th Jan AP Holocaust Assembly History
Children’s Mental Health Week
4th Feb 2019
6th Feb HT

https://www.childrensmentalhealthweek.org.uk/

Assembly Notes

PSHE
Safer Internet Day
5th Feb
4th Feb FA Safer Internet Day Assembly ICT/Safeguarding
National Pizza Day!
9th Feb
14th Feb Pupils Arts & Crafts

Term 2


Event/Topic

Assembly Date

Assembly By

Notes

Cross-curricular Links

Halloween Wed 31st Oct HT https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halloween History
Guy Faukes Night Mon 5th Nov HT Gunpowder Plot Assembly History
International Stress Awareness Week 5th Nov – 9th Nov Tues 6th Nov DH https://isma.org.uk/national-stress-awareness-day PSHE
Anti-Bullying Week 2018 12th Nov – Fri 16th Nov Tues 13th Nov DH

https://www.bullying.co.uk/anti-bullying-week/anti-bullying-week-2018/

Anti-Bullying Week Assembly

Islamiat
World Kindness Day Tues 13th Nov Wed 14th Nov HT http://kindnessuk.com/world_kindness_day_kindness_day_uk.php Islamiat
Universal Children’s Day
Tues 20th Nov
Wed 21st Nov HT http://www.un.org/en/events/childrenday/ BV
Anger Awareness Week 1-7th December Wed 5th Dec HT https://www.mentalhealthtoday.co.uk/association-launches-keep-your-cool-over-christmas-kit-for-anger-awareness-week Islamiat
International Anti-Corruption Day
Sun 9th Dec
Mon 10th Dec HT http://www.un.org/en/events/anticorruptionday/ Islamiat
Christmas Day
25th Dec
Wed 19th Dec Rev. Juliet Jensen
St. Jame's Church
RE/BV

Term 1


Event/Topic

Assembly Date

Assembly By

Notes

Cross-curricular Links

Blood Pressure UK 2018
Health Awareness Week

10th – 16th Sept
Tue 11th Sept DH http://www.bloodpressureuk.org/microsites/kyn/Home/AboutKYN/KYN2018 PSHE
Careers Assembly
Sat 15th Sept. 2018
Fri 14th Sept R.J Vet Veterinary Science Careers
Pupil Career's Assembly
RAF 100

Sept 17 – Sept 23rd
Wed 19th Sept Maariyah Bhamjee (Year 11)
Sumayyah Garda (Year 11)
Ruqayyah Girach (Year 10)
RAF 100 Careers
National Coding Week
Sept 17 – Sept 23rd
Wed 19th Sept FA https://www.awarenessdays.com/awareness-days-calendar/national-coding-week-2018/ IT
International Day of Peace
Fri 21st Sept
Fri 21st Sept FT https://www.awarenessdays.com/awareness-days-calendar/international-day-of-peace-2018/ PSHE/Islamiat
National Fitness Day
Wed 26th Sept
Wed 26th Sept MK

https://www.nationalfitnessday.com/fitness2me/

National Fitness Day

PE/PSHE
National Poetry Day
Thu 4th October
Fri 5th Oct Pupils https://nationalpoetryday.co.uk/about-npd/ Literacy
World Mental Health Day
Wed 10th Oct
Tue 9th Oct DH

https://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/campaigns/world-mental-health-day

World Mental Health Day 2018

PSHE
National Hate Crime Awareness Week
13th Oct – 20th Oct
Wed 17th Oc HT

https://www.stophateuk.org/hate-crime-awareness-week/

https://www.cps.gov.uk/hate-crime

BV