Curriculum Overview


The Al-Ashraf Secondary School for Girls is fully committed to meeting the requirements of the National Curriculum, which is taught within an Islamic framework.

The Curriculum has been divided in to two main areas:

  1. National Curriculum Subjects
  2. Islamiat (Islamic Subjects)

The National Curriculum Subjects: 70% of the school curriculum.

Most staff who teach National Curriculum subjects are university graduates and hold degrees. Most of them are also qualified and experienced teachers holding QTS.

Islamiat: 30% of the school curriculum.

Most of our Islamiat Curriculum staff are qualified Aalimaat and hold traditional degrees in Islamic Theology.

When pupils leave primary school, they will be in Year 7, the seventh year of statutory education.